Photo Therapy: Ryan & Robin’s Wedding

Before my father passed away he and I owned a photography studio and I spent many weekends in college driving into Chicago to do shoots. After he died I refused to pick up my camera for many months – the memories were still very raw for me. Some may say that that was a cowardly decision but I needed to simplify my life for a while and re-center. But I have a confession – I’ve missed the adrenaline rush that comes from picking up my beloved Nikon and capturing a great shot. So…  

Back in October my boyfriend’s cousin got married in the Chicago Suburbs. Their photographer was only able to cover an hour before the ceremony but Robin, the bride, really wanted some photos of her and her bridesmaids getting ready.

So of course I offered to shoot the morning of. Here are some of the still-life shots I did…

The Bridesmaids Dresses

The Bride's Shoes

The Bride's Purse

The Bride's Jewelry

The Bride's Earrings

The Ring

 

The Bouquets

So after a very long break – I have returned to photography, if just only on a rare basis.

Ashley

7 thoughts on “Photo Therapy: Ryan & Robin’s Wedding

  1. These photos are stunning-you are very talented. I know how hard it is to find joy again in things after losing a father. Mine passed suddenly almost three years ago. I’ve decided the best way to honor those who have passed is to continue to live a full and happy life!

  2. The pictures are really amazing! I love the way you’ve captured the dresses & the jewelry! BTW: Thanks for checking out Style Darling 🙂

  3. I’m pretty sure your dad is looking down from above, smiling, because you’ve decided to take baby steps in doing something which made the both of you happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

