Life Upgrades: 10 Ways to Stay Warm This Winter

It’s official: the first snow fell here in Chicago. Nothing stuck on the ground but I have officially switched over into ‘winter hibernation mode’. After living in India for a semester in 2007 my ‘cold’ tolerance has never been the same – even though I went to college in chilly Wisconsin. Every November I try to pull out all my winter clothes and other warm essentials to help me transition into the bitter cold months. Here is a list of 10 life upgrades you can incorporate into your hibernation ritual as we move into the winter months.

1. Heated Tower Warmer & Dryer. I had never even heard of this until Ian and I visited some friends in London in August. Apparently these are considered a household essential across the pond and for good reason – nothing feels more indulgent than a warm towel after a relaxing shower. I also keep Apollo’s small puppy towel on our rack and I wrap him in it after coming in from a frosty morning walk.

Towel Warmer and Dryer

2. Fleece-lined Leggings. I was skeptical that I would get too hot in these and that they would be bulky and unattractive but after trying them on I was in heaven. These are perfect for lounging around the house and wearing under dresses on my commute to work. They are thin and comfortable while warm – essential for winter layering.

Fleece-Lined Leggings from Anthropologie

3. Cuticle Cream. A winter must! My skin gets very dry in winter so I keep a package of this at my desk and at home. It smells like summer which helps with the winter blues too!

Burt's Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream

4. Lip Balm. Every girl needs a good lip balm in her arsenal. I got a sample of Jouer Lip Enhancer from Birchbox and it is the silkiest lip moisturizer I’ve tried. A little price-y at $14 but will keep your lips chap-free for the entire season.

Jouer Lip Enhancer

5. Mulled Wine. I love mulled wine and this blend from William Sonoma is delicious and perfect for brewing a warming cup. Just mix with a basic red wine (I use Burgundy) and some sugar (I use organic) and bring to a boil on the stove. Strain and serve with a cinnamon stick. Warning: Have your favorite hangover cure handy for the next morning.

William Sonoma Mulling Spices

6. Waterproof Boots. I love these Aquatalia booties – all the positive reviews speak for themselves and the waterproof fabric will keep your feet dry and warm when trudging to work during the next snowstorm. Though the $398 price is a shocker, a good, well-made pair of work-appropriate black booties will be something you will use for years to come.

Aquatalia "Royal" Booties at Nordstroms

7. A Tailored Wool Coat. A classic, well-constructed coat is the winter closet’s ‘bread and butter’. Make sure to get one large enough to layer under but with some structure so you don’t look like a walking sleeping bag.

Victoria's Secret Wool Trenchcoat

8. A Plush & Cozy Blanket. This is the most important winter essential. Restoration Hardware has been making these fantastic plush blankets for a few years now and I am obsessed with how wonderful they are. I bought the red one last winter and couldn’t have been happier with how cozy, cuddly and warm this blanket was. Plus it washed well and doesn’t lose its ‘coziness’ after three washes.

Restoration Hardware Luxury Plush Throw

9. Ugg Scuffette Slippers. I wish I could get these – they look so warm and cozy. But I think there might be too much fur to tempt poor Apollo into being a slobber-puss on these slippers. But for any pug-free family these look like a fabulous winter home staple.

Ugg Scuffette Slippers

10. A Pug Cuddle. Nature’s best defense against winter: Fur. Cuddling with a pug can be one of the coziest winter activities. Though be warned: you might get snorted on.

Apollo is a snuggler

What are your favorite ways to stay warm in winter? 

Ashley
 
 
10 thoughts on “Life Upgrades: 10 Ways to Stay Warm This Winter

  1. This post made me smile! As a fellow Chicago girl, I am tempted to run out and snag those leggings immediately. And a pug. These pug pictures are really getting to me, and by getting to me, I mean giving me serious puppy fever!

  2. That pug, SO cute! My big doggie is a great cuddler too. Is there anything better than a warm dog to love in the winter? Although, in Atlanta “cold” has a totally different meaning than in Chicago. My sister lives there and I thought I might perish when I visited in May and it got mildly chilly at night.

  3. aaww I love the pug part haha they are warm and I think all pugs snort and sneeze . I used to have a pug and I would always put my feet under my her but I hate everytime she sneeze on me. pugs are adorable!! xo’s

  4. Oh, I’m loving the post an all things WARM! I love the cold weather because I like to be warm. It’s weird, though, because I hate summer. It’s just to warm I guess. I have a new favorite blankey that we got for our wedding, it’s so soft and cuddly and just the perfect size to fit on the couch but also to fit all the way under!

  5. Fleece-lined leggings…I did not know there was such a thing but I want to run out and buy them right now! Sounds comfy and warm! Ditto on the plush and cozy blanket. There’s nothing better than coming home and snuggling up on the couch with an awesome blanket! Except for maybe your cute pug 😉

  6. I don’t know how you do it. That is live in Chicago during the winter. It is amazing how quickly you acclimate to a warm climate. I grew up in the midwest and kick and scream every winter when I have to go to Chicago for a few days! I live for my leggings, uggs, and warm puppies in Dallas!

  7. Pingback: Cozy Feet | Abi At Play

  8. I got these gloves for Christmas that have special tips so I can keep my fingers warm and still use my iphone. I really like the heated towel warmer looks easy to use and install.

Leave a Reply

