100 Ways to Be Elegant

I found this FABULOUS post on ‘Live the Charmed Life’ on 100 Ways to  Be Elegant:

http://livethecharmedlife.com/2010/06/100-ways-to-be-elegant/

Elegance has long been a personal goal of mine and I would like to add to her list what I believe to be the hardest way to be elegant:

Choosing not to complain when you want to.

Honestly, I have a tendency to be a rather loud complainer. And a rather frequent one. I even once complained to Ian about a man who pushed me out-of-the-way to get in the revolving door entrance to our office. To get into the office. Doesn’t even make sense that he was rushing into the office… But while that man’s manners are regrettable, the fact that I burdened Ian with this story and got myself all flustered is even more regrettable.

Sometimes unburdening ourselves can be a heavy burden for others.

And so choosing not to complain has become one of my personal Lifevestments. I draw inspiration from my father who underwent countless chemo treatments after a nearly three-hour drive and several large surgeries without one complaint. The only time you even knew he was in pain was when he would ask to go lie down in bed. It’s amazing how weak we can seem just dealing with the day-to-day world but how strong we can become when we need to be.

I believe acknowledging our inner strength and choosing not to let things bother us is one of the hardest but most rewarding ways to be elegant.

What would you add to the “ways to be elegant” list?

Ashley

4 thoughts on “100 Ways to Be Elegant

  1. I totally fail at this…
    My mom also went thru chemo & radiation tx as well…never complained till the very end. She is and always will be my hero! My wish is to be more like her…it’s work in progress.
    Great post! Have a great weekend!

  2. Lovely post darling!

    It’s very touching, your father truly sounds like an inspiration. I agree with you it’s very hard to be elegant but I will definitely try not to complain when I want after your lovely post!

    x Mallika

    http://fashionscript.net/
    PS: Thank you soo much for the versatile blogger award, I am very honoured! Also sorry for the late reply. I have had loads of work in the past couple of months and am only getting time to reply to comments now x

  3. I like the way you’re phrased it! – “ways to be elegant”! it sounds alot more refined than the usual “forgive and forget” type of advice!

    Mine would be to do something nice for someone else without expecting anything in return or even any form of acknowledgement! It’s hard because I know (at least for me) acknowledgement or “praise” of some sort is a much-needed affirmation! But it’s a different kind of satisfaction to do something nice for someone and genuinely not expect anything in return – it takes alot of character I think, so I’m still working on it!

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  4. Dear Ashley,
    Thank you so much for the kind reposting and comment.
    Your father sounds like a truly elegant and inspirational man, and he must be so proud to have raised such a lovely daughter!
    Warm regards,
    DeeAnne

Leave a Reply

