Why I Choose Not To Dye My Hair

1. I get highlights without trying in the summer.

2. I can buy inexpensive and natural shampoo without worrying about maintaining my hair color.

3. Ian and I can share the same shampoo.

4. Lower hair care costs in general.

5. Healthier & shinier hair.

6. Hair color that matches my eyebrows naturally.

7. Fewer split-ends and frizziness.

8. No chemicals – good for me, good for the earth.

9. I dont have to worry about ‘roots’.

10. I discovered that my hair color subtly changes with the seasons.

In spring 2007, I decided to stop coloring my hair. I have reddish undertones and any color I tried ended up looking orange. And honestly, I think it is one of the best Lifevestments I have made. People are regularly asking me if I dye my hair and they never believe me when I say it is natural.

Have you ever made an abrupt change in your beauty routine?

Ashley

3 thoughts on “Why I Choose Not To Dye My Hair

  1. I’ve never colored my hair. I just think I will look akward. Natural hair is so much beautiful! As you said, it changes with the seasons (and with the age) and I love that! Plus, I can’t stand someone with a hair color different than her eyebrows 🙂

  2. I started coloring my hair when I was in college. I didn’t really give it much thought at the time, but the upkeep is a lot of work! This past summer, I made the decision to give it up completely. I am in the kinda-sorta awkward phase of letting my roots grow out to the point where they’re not noticeable. On the up side, my hair is definitely healthier, and I’m glad to be getting my natural hair color back!

  3. I highlighted once on a whim in college. Terrible idea. The way I see it, your natural hair matches best with your natural colorings because it was meant to be uniquely you. And may I say, reddish hair is always divine!

Leave a Reply

