Indoor Composting

Remember when I revealed that Ian and I had begun indoor composting? Meet our 1,000 newest family members:

They really love carrots (as you can see above). Ian and I have been composting for about a month now and for the most part I have enjoyed the experience. It’s nice to have a more sustainable place to recycle old produce instead of just throwing it in the trash. And believe it or not the worms do not smell at all (not even with moldy food in their bin). Their “worm factory” bin is a nice design and has a spout in the front for using the ‘worm water’ to water your garden plants with. Over the next few months I’ll look forward to them building up more compost for us to plant with (maybe a little will even be ready when we plant our seeds in April).

My one complaint is that apparently beetles (or earwigs, Ian couldn’t figure out which) also love our worm’s composting home and every now and then it can be a surprise to see a non-worm insect in the bin. For those of you who have indoor composted before, is this something to worry about? Until we get a good look at what else has made the bin its home, I havent been able to search online as to whether or not the worms are safe.

But I’ll take hitchhiking beetle/earwigs over throwing away pounds of old produce into the trash, that’s for sure!

Have you ever tried to compost indoors or outdoors before?

Ashley

4 thoughts on “Indoor Composting

  1. Hi Ashley,
    I have been worm composting for 12 years and have my own outdoor bins for my business, but I keep a demo box in a closet for presentations. I haven’t had any earwigs or beetles in my home bin (usually a few fruit flies or gnats from the fruit), but it’s nothing to worry about.

    Those arthropods are primary degraders of your food scraps. They chew and tear them into smaller pieces. You can also have pot worms (very small white worm) and springtails among others. Then come the microbes, then the compost worms. A beetle or earwig (or two) won’t do your worms any harm and will most probably die once the food is gone, thus making more food for the microbes. It is truly an “eat or be eaten” world in there!

    Happy Worming!

  2. Pingback: The Worm Factory « Romancing the Bee

  3. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

