My Favorite Festive Cupcakes

Last night I realized I hadn’t planned anything as gifts for my co-workers… and I felt like a deer in headlights. With at least twelve co-workers to find gifts for, I had to think of something relatively inexpensive but still thoughtful since I do work with these people every single day.

While I was running around the grocery store last night with an idea of making reindeer food (puppy chow in mason jars with cute tags), the reality of making 24 cups of puppy chow hit me. I didn’t even have enough bowls for the job, not to mention that I don’t have a car here in the city so I would have to lug home over six boxes of cereal, four bags of chocolate chips… yikes!

Luckily I happened to be in the baking aisle when this epiphany hit and like a small Christmas miracle, a large box of red velvet cake mix was on the shelf right in front of me and I began to think. Cupcakes are pretty easy to make in large quantities… Plus. Red velvet cupcakes are festive… Plus! Red currants, the most festive berry, just happened to be in stock in the produce aisle… Plus. And then I realized it: there were no minuses to this plan.

So if you are looking for a thoughtful last-minute gift idea, try these out!

My Favorite Super Easy Festive Cupcakes

What You’ll Need:

1 box of red velvet cake mix

2 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional, but I recommend it!)

3 teaspoons milk

1 bag chocolate chunks, for garnish

1 carton of red currants, for garnish

Directions:

Make red velvet mix as directed for cupcakes. Meanwhile mix powdered sugar, milk and vanilla extract until they form a pourable icing. Once cupcakes are done (a toothpick should be able to poke through them cleanly) pull out of the oven and drizzle icing as desired. Once cupcakes have cooled for about ten minutes, place a small pile of chocolate chunks on top. Garnish with a small sprig of red currants.

And enjoy! Yes, it’s that easy.

These are especially delicious to enjoy in front of the Christmas tree, it creates the right atmosphere:

Ashley

P.s. For some reason these cupcakes make me think of another red and chocolate dessert:

14 thoughts on “My Favorite Festive Cupcakes

  1. I love these! I love red velvet anything! When growing up, mom always made our birthday cakes from the red velvet recipe with 7 minute cooked frosting. Nowadays you often see it with cream cheese frosting….of which I am not a fan. I really like your interpretation of it. A thin icing with chocolate chunks! Yummy! Thanks for posting these!

  2. Pingback: Reindeer Treats | Lifevesting

Leave a comment